Firefighter Funeral Services

By: Matthew Funeral Home
Thursday, May 25, 2023

When a firefighter passes away, there are often special practices associated with their funeral services. This is especially true if they died in the line of duty. Below, we will discuss the different types of fire department honors for funeral services, and what you might expect. 

Type 1: Line-of Duty

Type 1 funeral services refer to an individual who suffered from a trauma during an active scene or an injury that causes a decline in health that results in death. This is the highest honor that a fallen fire personnel can receive. The honor is often accompanied by a formal funeral service, including Class A uniforms, a color guard, bagpipers, and more. Crossed ladders and other ceremonial decorations are often employed at the funeral home, church, or gravesite. Fire service vehicles may be employed in the funeral procession.

Type 2: Line of Duty

Type 2 funeral honors are reserved for on-duty personnel that suffers from trauma or injury on the job which results in a gradual decline of health leading to death. Formal funeral services and honor guards, as those described in Type 1, are often utilized during a Type 2 service. 

Type 3: Off-Duty Incident

Type 3 funeral services are granted to personnel involved in an off-duty incident that leads to either rapid or gradual deterioration of health. For these conditions, semi-formal services are employed. These include Class A uniforms, a color guard, and Class A uniforms. However, deployment of firetrucks a crossed ladders is not typical of Type 3 and beyond services. 

Type 4: Current or Past Member

Type 4 services are granted to a member or honorary member of the department who is active or retired. It may also be granted to volunteer personnel. Generally, Current members would receive semi-formal services, as described in Type 3. However, retirees receive non-formal services. Non-formal services will still include a color guard and Class A uniforms. 

Type 5: Affiliate of the Department

An affiliate’s service is for those who have served the department to some degree but were generally not active firefighters. This may include a Chief, dispatcher, or commissioner. Type 5 services usually receive non-formal fire department funeral services.

Type 6: Non-Fire Fighting Individual

Type 6 services extend to immediate family members, volunteers, or someone with other professional ties to a fire station. This is for secondary members of the station. Type 6 individuals are granted non-formal service benefits. 
For over 50 years, Matthew Funeral Home has been serving the Staten Island community. We can help with almost every aspect of your loved one’s memorial service. Our family is here to serve yours, every step of the way.

Leave a comment
Please enter the numbers and letters you see in the image. Note that the case of the letters entered matters.


Please wait

Previous Posts

Choosing the Right Funeral Home

When a loved one passes, or when pre-planning your funeral, it is important to choose a funeral home that you are comfortable with. Planning a funeral can seem daunting, especially when you are dea...

Should You Attend the Funeral of an Ex-Spouse?

When a loved one dies, it can seem obvious that you should attend the funeral. However, when it comes to your ex-spouse, it can get trickier. Divorces and separations can drastically affect the par...

Survivor's Guilt & Coping with Grief

After a traumatic or sudden passing of a loved one, it is common for people to experience Survivor’s Guilt. Survivor’s Guilt is a type of grief that creates feelings of wrong-doing surrounding ...

Consoling Non-Religious Mourners

After the death of a loved one, it is common to say platitudes to the family like “they're in a better place” and “I’m praying for you.” But what if the family member of the loved one is non-religi...

Meditation and Working Through Grief

Meditation is a practice for fostering balance and serenity. More people turn to meditation as a way to find peace in a hectic work week, or to help them stay focused. Big tech companies like Googl...

Terminal Illnesses and Grief

When a loved one is diagnosed with a terminal illness, it can be hard to process your grief and be there for them. Often, family and friends can be an important support network for the sick individ...

Remembering Mom On Mother's Day

As Mother’s Day draws closer, it can be hard to avoid all the greeting card stands and gift displays in stores. After losing your mother, the upcoming holiday can feel bittersweet. Below, we will d...

Phobias and Funerals

Fear can be a powerful driving force in life, but it can also play a big part in dealing with death. Everyone fears something, and fear can often stop us from experiencing new and unique things. Wh...

Are the 5 Stages of Grief Misinterpreted?

In 1969, Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross developed the concept of the 5 stages of grief. First appearing in her book, On Dying and Death, the process of grief was conceptualized as how the body reacts to...

Visiting a Cemetery with Your Children

Cemetery visits can be somber events, but they can also be a time for peaceful reflection. For many parents, it might seem morbid to bring a child on a cemetery visit, but it can also be a good exp...